Thank you

I received an email today from the daughter-in-law of one of the home bound members, Minerva, I visit each month.  it consisted of simple thank you, but more than made my day.  Minerva shares the details of each visit with her family, from the baked goods she prepares for me to the flowers I sometimes bring from Sunday’s worship.  The email concluded, “Thanks for bringing such joy into her life.”

I rarely stop to think about the impact a visit makes.  When you live alone and rarely get out, any in-person conversation becomes a celebration.  Every personal encounter becomes a memory that can be relived and enjoyed over and over.

I also realize what an impact a thank you can make.  That one sentence blessed me more than cards, gifts, and other tokens of gratitude for ministry.  It’s not that I don’t like those things.  But I’d would much rather know that for just a moment, I brought joy to someone’s life.  I made someone’s day a little shorter, a little more crowded, a little more memorable.

I can live off of a thank you for days.

Leave a Reply

