When I was at the seminary…

With my son Adam just about to complete his first semester at Concordia Seminary in St. Louis, my mind was wandering back to when I was at the seminary.  It was a different seminary:  Concordia Theological Seminary in Ft. Wayne, IN.  It was also a much different time to study for the parish ministry (I attended from 1982-1986).  It doesn’t seem that long ago.  But when I was at the seminary…

No one had a computer.  (The original PC was just being conceived.)  Everyone I knew typed their papers on typewriters.  You did all of your research in the library, where you had to look things up in a card catalogue.

No one had a phone.  We used a pay phone in the dorm to make or receive calls.

No one had a debit card.  Many places took a check.  Or you could cash one at the business office.

The financial aid program was this:  buy the cheapest Lutheran Brotherhood life insurance policy, and get a student loan through them.

I worked for a market research company, and actually went door-to-door trying to get people to test toilet paper, Wheat Thins, and soda.

Everything I owned I could fit in a 1980 Volkswager Rabbit diesel, which got 50 mph.  I could drive to my parent’s house in Philadelphia on one tank of fuel.

The NIV was the first new translation of the bible to come along since the RSV.  That, and the King James, were about all you had to choose from, unless you were a paraphrase kind of person and liked that oldie but goodie Good News for Modern Man.

Dr. Voelz’s book on Greek Grammar was printed in the Seminary print shop, with hand-written Greek letters in it.

I met my wife, Lisa.

And my son Adam was born.

 

Leave a Reply

