The morning after

Yesterday I wrote about my pre-worship routine on a Sunday morning. Today’s the “morning after.” As I reflect on yesterday, which was chock full of different activities, conversations, tasks, and thoughts, there were some good moments and some bad. Some things that I liked, others that we could have done better.

The big event is always the sermon. I spend a lot of time preparing for that 15-20 minutes each Sunday. I spend a lot of time second-guessing myself, usually concluding that I could have done better. Better illustrations, better stories, better transitions. That’s just me. I tend to be critical of myself. I don’t even know if anyone was really listening. Responses to sermons usually don’t come right away, but weeks later. I’m not sure why that is, but it must have something to do with ideas having to incubate for a while.

Everyone who had volunteered to help make Sunday morning possible was there and doing their thing, as far as I could tell. I really appreciate that.  It always makes me feel good.

I enjoyed the music, the busy children, and the coffee someone made for Bible class. I missed some of the people who are usually there, said goodbye to some who will be traveling, and wondered who will be around for the holidays.

It wasn’t an extraordinary Sunday in any way, but it wasn’t bad, either. Just a much-needed gathering of God’s people around his word and sacraments before heading out into another week where we will certainly need his grace.

7 thoughts on “The morning after

  1. Pingback: Faith Walk « Carmi Salas-Sarte

  2. Pingback: Wisdom Strokes « Carmi Salas-Sarte

  3. Pingback: Wisdom Strokes « Carmi Salas-Sarte

  4. Pingback: Wisdom Tidbits « First Things First

  5. Thanks for this. Made me appreciate all the little Sunday buzzes that ultimately lead us see a glimpse of our Maker.

    “It wasn’t an extraordinary Sunday in any way, but it wasn’t bad, either. Just a much-needed gathering of God’s people around his word and sacraments before heading out into another week where we will certainly need his grace.”

    – I love this line. Will it be ok if i post a paraphrase of this in one of my blog posts?

Leave a Reply

