Good News Clubs

Today, I was asked to lead some Christmas carols at the Good News Clubs our church sponsors. So I printed out a few song sheets, tuned up my guitar, and led kindergarteners through 5th graders through “Away in a Manger,” “Silent Night,” “Joy to the World” and a few other classic Christmas carols. Some of them knew some of them. But they didn’t sing anywhere as good as they did for “Jingle Bells.”

For those of you unfamiliar, Good New Clubs are Christian Bible clubs that meet in public school after hours one day a week. That’s right, we teach the gospel on public school grounds, with the blessing of the Supreme Court of the United States of America. About 60 young people attend each week this year (last year’s attendance was higher).

I felt like a superstar. Most of them loved to sing. They all wanted me to hang with their group. They all tuned in to the real story of Christmas. What a great afternoon. I have volunteer credentials for the public schools. But I’ve dragged my feet  getting into the Good News Clubs. I am wary of taking on another commitment. But this was way too much fun. I want to come back. I want to be a part of this.

Leave a Reply

