Studying earth science

Tonight is Earth Science study/review night with Olivia. The chapter is on the geologic periods of the earth. Now a lot of the material sounds familiar to me, but either I don’t remember it, or we just didn’t study it in the same depth as students do now.

Let’s see, I did biology in 9th grade, chemistry in 10th grade, physics in 11th grade, and didn’t take a science in 12th grade. So what did we study in eighth grade science? I don’t have a clue. But I remember my eighth grade science teacher, Mr. Smith. And all I remember about that year is combining hydrogen and oxygen in a metal tube and putting a static electric charge to the end to make it explode. Cool stuff. He also got our school an electron microscope from somewhere.

Anyway, it occurred to me that some might wonder how I can blend my belief in the six day creation account of the Bible with the chapter we’re about to review. For me, it’s never been a problem. Both look at how the world came to be, and if there are some things that don’t match up, we obviously have more to learn. I look at science as a gift from God to study and learn about the world and life he created. It doesn’t have to be a matter of proving one right and the other wrong. I learn a lot from both and appreciate the Creator even more. Math and physics are other disciplines that help me understand it as well. A lot depends on your assumptions. With a belief in God as Creator, I can see his handiwork in fossils, equations, and graphs. And I think that is really cool.

Leave a Reply

