The blessing of being nonessential

It’s taken a while, but one pastoral task I seem to be getting better at is “preparing God’s people for works of service” (Ephesians 4:12). I realized this tonight as we were practicing music for Easter tonight. I’ve got three other guys playing trumpet with me. And they are good. I can remember the first times I got to play for worship. It is such a great feeling to know that God can use you to lead people in worshiping him.  It was a stepping stone for me on my way to the pastoral ministry. I am so thankful that I can give other musicians that experience!

Either I’m getting better at letting go of things, or God is motivating more people. Or a combination of both. There have been times when it seemed like I had to do a little of everything. Now other people are taking responsibility and stepping up to the plate, and that’s a blessing for both me and them. One  of my goals is that if for some reason I wasn’t here, it would be business as usual. Thank you Lord for letting me be, in many ways, nonessential!

Leave a Reply

