Five is very good

Last night my wife, my three children and myself were at supper together for the first time since Christmas. My son’s been at St. Louis at the seminary, my older daughter was in Gainesville graduating from college, and the rest of us were at home doing our thing. My younger daughter’s comment as we said our prayer together before we ate was, “Wow, that was loud!”

What a blessing to have all our voices together again! Until college life pulled us in different directions a few years ago, we had always eaten supper together daily. As our number gradually shrunk, it was sometimes no more than one or two of us praying. In the future, there may not be many “five” nights. We’ll often have less. Eventually we’ll have more when my children have spouses and families of their own.  But for now, five is very good.

Leave a Reply

