Getting His hands dirty

gardening

 

 

 

 

 

 

This morning I began another cover-to-cover reading of the Bible. I choose a different translation to read through each time and this time, I’m reading the Common English Bible copyright 2011. The subtitle is “a fresh translation to touch the heart and mind.” I’m certainly not an expert on Bible translations, and I’m sure that this one, like all, has its shortcomings. Like many contemporary translations, I believe it strives to find a balance between word-for-word and thought-for-thought approaches to translation. I work with the English Standard Version each week for sermon preparation and worship, so we’ll see how it goes.

The verses that caught my attention early this morning were Genesis 2:7-8, “the Lord God formed the human from the topsoil of the fertile land and blew life’s breath into his nostrils. The human came to life. The Lord God planted a garden in Eden in the east and put there the human he had formed.” A long time ago in a place far away, God was getting his hands dirty, creating the first man and planting the first garden.

I checked the Hebrew word and indeed, the is plant, which means God and I have something in common. I have planted gardens. In fact, I really enjoy gardening. I suppose I got that from my father, who until recently had all kinds of gardens and grew some amazing roses. Now I find myself wondering if my heavenly Father enjoys gardening. Just imagine the Almighty, Eternal God, the Creator Himself, on his knees, digging a hole, mixing in some fertilizer, and adding a plant to His garden.

As I’ve written about in a previous post, there is something very relaxing about working in the garden. Now I know it’s really a spiritual experience!

Leave a Reply

