Top ministry moments – a few that didn’t make the cut

rosette-award-ribbons-yghvBvAfter writing about ministry moments from the past thirty years, I thought of a few more that didn’t make the top ten list.

  • Representing the circuit at the 1998 LCMS Synodical Convention in St. Louis, MO. It was very interesting to see the synod at work, and a great opportunity to meet up with friends from all over the country.
  • Giving the opening prayer for the opening session of the Iowa state legislature. Our church was issued an invitation, the senior pastor had done it before, so I got the nod.
  • In 2004, while our sanctuary was under construction, my good friend and Embry-Riddle flight instructor Jim Petrucci took me up in a single engine training airplane and we flew over the nearly completed building where we worship today. I got some cool pix.
  • For several years, my dear homeless friend Eric Zimmerman would meet me when I arrived to open up the church at 6:30 am on Sunday mornings. Intelligent and inquisitive, Eric still reminds me that the homeless have a name, a face, a family and faith.
  • Sharing a year of ministry with vicars from the seminary 2005- 2008. Thank you Brett, Eric and Brian for letting me be a part of your seminary education.
  • Getting “pied” several times over the years, including Lauren and Kirsten Perrotta’s first Sunday at our church.

Those are some that immediately come to mind. I reserve the right to add to this list in the future as I remember some more.

 

Leave a Reply

